Jeff Gordon among 5 new nominees for NASCAR Hall of Fame

Mar 6, 2018

Four-time NASCAR Cup Series champion Jeff Gordon headlines a list of 5 new nominees to a NASCAR Hall of Fame.

Gordon and 19-time foe leader Harry Gant are a dual drivers total to a list of 20 nominees, that includes all 15 nominees who were not comparison final year. Joining them as new nominees are former group owners John Holman and Ralph Moody (who won dual Cup titles together), as good as Kirk Shelmerdine, who won 4 Cup titles as a organisation arch for Dale Earnhardt.

A motorist contingency be late for dual years before being put on a ballot. Although Gordon — third all time in NASCAR Cup wins with 93, behind Richard Petty (200) and David Pearson (105) — came out of retirement to contest in 8 races as a surrogate for a harmed Dale Earnhardt Jr. in 2016, NASCAR did not count that opposite his eligibility period.

Gordon headlines category for Motorsports Hall

Four-time NASCAR champion Jeff Gordon and individualist billionaire Howard Hughes are among 7 people comparison for a Motorsports Hall of Fame of America.

Drivers who are age 55 with during slightest 10 years of racing or drivers who have competed in NASCAR foe for 30 years also are eligible.

The nominees were comparison by a 24-person committee, who also are among a row — typically 55 to 60 people, including one total list from online fan voting — who will opinion May 23 for a 2019 NASCAR Hall of Fame class. Each panelist chooses 5 names from a 20 nominees, and a 5 named on a many ballots acquire spots in a arriving class.

The 20 nominees for a 2019 NASCAR Hall of Fame:

Drivers: Davey Allison, Buddy Baker, Red Farmer, Harry Gant, Jeff Gordon, Alan Kulwicki, Bobby Labonte, Hershel McGriff, Larry Phillips, Ricky Rudd, Mike Stefanik

Car owners: Joe Gibbs, John Holman, Ralph Moody, Roger Penske, Jack Roush

Mechanics/crew chiefs: Ray Fox, Harry Hyde, Kirk Shelmerdine, Waddell Wilson

Posted in
Tagged . Bookmark the permalink.
short link