Chivers: Chuck Long to join Shaquille O’Neal during a Des Moines Register Sports Awards





This year’s eventuality will be hold Jun 24 during a Wells Fargo Arena and will prominence a achievements of about 800 All-Iowa honorees.
Des Moines Register

The second Des Moines Register Sports Awards is moulding adult to be a must-attend high propagandize sporting eventuality of a year. In further to celebrating a success of hundreds of Iowa’s tip high propagandize athletes and coaches, a rite will respect athletes from Special Olympics Iowa and underline basketball idol Shaquille O’Neal as a speaker.

This year’s eventuality moves to a building of Wells Fargo Arena on June 24 and will prominence a achievements of about 800 All-Iowa honorees — players and coaches — from 21 opposite high propagandize sports. 

We now have another proclamation to make. Our master of ceremonies for a event? None other than Hawkeye good and College Football Hall of Famer Chuck Long.

Long is no foreigner to Iowa sports fans. He led a Hawkeyes to a Rose Bowl in 1985. He was a accord All-American quarterback and won the Big Ten Conference’s actor of a year, Maxwell Award (college actor of a year) and a Davey O’Brien Award (nation’s best quarterback). He was also the Heisman Trophy runner-up in 1985 and a first-round NFL breeze collect in 1986. Long played 8 seasons with a Detroit Lions and Los Angeles Rams before going into college coaching. 

Long’s 16-year coaching career enclosed roles during tip college programs, and he was a pivotal partner on Oklahoma’s inhabitant championship group in 2000.  

“I’m respected to horde this eventuality showcasing a value of student-athletes opposite a good state of Iowa,” Long said. “I had fun being a presenter final year and demeanour brazen to assembly all of a athletes I’ve followed by a march of this smashing sports year.”

Athletes and manager of a year honorees have been announced for summer, tumble and winter sports. The remaining sports to be announced are lane and field, Special Olympics, soccer, golf and tennis.

At a event, we’ll respect those athletes and announce a contestant and actor of a year in those sports and a premiere endowment winners. The premiere awards include: Boy and Girl Overall Athlete of a Year; Coach of a Year; Team of a Year; Inspiration Award leader and a “I AM SPORT” winner. 

Premiere Award possibilities and winners for a Inspiration, Team and we AM SPORT awards will be announced in a May 21 book of the Register. 

The infancy of these winners are comparison by a All-Iowa voter panel, done adult of Register and Iowa City Press-Citizen sports staffers and tip high propagandize sports experts from all over Iowa.

Posted in
Tagged . Bookmark the permalink.
short link